Experimental Cooking: Pomegranate Poppyseed v3

Pomegranate Poppyseed Muffins. I tried this recipe before and it didn’t come out quite right. Tried again, still not right. Well, this time we used a bit more oil and juice to make it taste better and be more moist. Well, it was a bit more moist, but the flavor? Too much oil. They looked really pretty.

So they were darker (we put more juice and added juice to the vanilla yogurt) so they are quite dark compared to before. I think less oil.

I kind of like the darker color. I didn’t like the taste so much. Tasty, but not amazing. So… still not posting the recipe alterations because I don’t have it quite down. And the pomegranate juice I have been using is not actually regular juice, but concentrate. It is 1 part juice to 3 parts water to make it the right flavor (according to the bottle) so I am wondering how I have so much trouble getting the great flavor in the muffins. Ugh. Perhaps it is because it is too concentrated? I am not too sure. I will have to see if trying it watered down will do better.

Life has been busy. I am thinking of signing up for a gym nearby that is open 24 hours a day. That might do well, considering I work for about 9-9.5 hours a day four days a week, and my weekends are incredibly booked up till the wedding. So during the evenings, after dinner and after work I want to go to the gym. It is partly to look better at my wedding and part because I want to be healthier (I gained over 50lbs in 4 years). Not just skinnier (though that would be a bonus, too! I haven’t been skinny in a long time.) or more socially acceptable, but I want to be more healthy and feel sexy, beautiful, and gorgeous. There aren’t very many fashions out there for fat chicks. Though it is becoming more and more of a norm to be bigger (with the US becoming more and more obese), the fashion world still loves stick figures and skinny girls who wear size 2 at the biggest. Okay, maybe, maybe a size 4. (Yeah, I dislike the fashion industry.)

Though, the industry is horrid, too. They changed “plus size” from sizes 18 and up to being size 14 and up. They also changed the line (in the health world) as to what constitutes as obese, overweight, etc. The “cute” clothes, the “hot” clothes, the “sexy” and “beautiful” clothes are all in the smaller sizes down to the bras. No cute bras for big girls, they are all for the more petite ones.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not angry at this moment. It is more a reflective rant than anything. I will fit in those adorable clothes! Eventually. Right now I want to make sure I fit in my wedding dress and am able to stand up to the circus that is a wedding with plenty of energy and style.Β  πŸ™‚

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Experimental Cooking, Life in General, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

