Movies, shows, and how I spend my day at work

So, I have been working about 38 hours/week lately. That leaves a lot of time to be bored. I also have to multitask in order to get anything done. Might be some kind of psychological disorder, but it is just how I am… must have at least 2 or 3 things going. It looks bad, but it helps me concentrate, especially when a video is playing. (And for those who are concerned, the boss has seen me watch videos and thinks it is a good idea to do so, and told me thus. I was happy to hear that!)

I have decided to make a log of what I have been watching. Some of which have been written down on varied scraps of paper, but some are by memory. These are not necessarily in order.

  1. Great Mouse Detective
  2. A Goofy Movie
  3. An Extremely Goofy Movie
  4. Lion King
  5. Lion King 1 1/2
  6. Lion King 2
  7. Ella Enchanted
  8. Princess Diaries
  9. Princess Diaries 2
  10. Freaky Friday (Starring Lindsey Lohan)
  11. Parent Trap (Lohan version)
  12. Parent Trap (Japanese version from 1951)
  13. Freaky Friday (original Disney version)
  14. Pita Ten (All 26 Episodes)
  15. Cooking With Dog (most of them)
  16. The Rescuers
  17. The Rescuers Down Under
  18. Ponyo
  19. Wall-E
  20. The Little Mermaid
  21. The Little Mermaid II
  22. Bridge to Terabithia (2007)
  23. Ratatouille
  24. Cars
  25. Brother Bear
  26. Brother Bear 2
  27. Fox and the Hound
  28. Kronk’s New Groove
  29. The Emperors New Groove (I may have watched this more than once so far this summer)
  30. Sky High
  31. Ice Princess
  32. The Incredibles (maybe more than once)
  33. Howl’s Moving Castle
  34. Mulan
  35. Mulan 2 (kind of addicted to the music, so the music sporadically)
  36. Atlantis
  37. Junglebook (animated)
  38. The Junglebook (live action in which Mougli looks like my sister when she was little)
  39. 101 Dalmations (Animated)
  40. Lilo & Stitch
  41. Spirited Away
  42. Lady and the Tramp
  43. Motocrossed
  44. Fantasia
  45. Tarzan (??? May have been end of the school year)
  46. Monster House
  47. Tom and Huck
  48. Aladdin
  49. Return of Jafar
  50. Aladdin and the King of Thieves
  51. Pete’s Dragon (man, it kind of creeped me out)
  52. Robin Hood (Animated with the foxies)
  53. Bedknobs and Broomsticks (Classic!)
  54. Mary Poppins
  55. Cinderella
  56. Dumbo
  57. Various music videos and youtube videos.
  58. Many many of the Nostalgia Critics and Nostalgia Chick critiques. (Over and over because I am bored. Some content NSFW, but it is on headphones)
  59. Riki Tiki Tavi
  60. Hercules (Disney, animated)
  61. Avatar: the Last Airbender Book 1, Episodes 1-4

So… that is in the about two months since I have graduated. I am sure I am missing some, but you notice a theme? I found a list of almost all the Disney Movies and have been eating away at it. There have been other movies, but I forget them at this moment (stealing moments between tasks).

On the list of should watch again soon:

  • Finding Nemo.
  • The Three Musketeers (1993, not animated. … I started but couldn’t find a good version online. Sad!)
  • Sword in the Stone (same story as the 3 Musketeers… cannot find it in its entirety or in a group of clips. I suck at google-foo)
  • The Black Cauldron (same story as the prior two films)
  • Avatar: The Last Airbender Book 1, Episodes 5-end
  • SUGGESTIONS?

Work isn’t entirely boring, really. I just tend to need multiple things going, hence the films. (By the way, I am kind of tired today hence the repeats… sorry about that!) Many of the movies are found online and mostly on Chinese sites (where they are more lax about copyright) so it is harder to find it in English, but hey.

So about the job thing… It is nice to know a bunch of web edit information, but I am currently working within a content management system that doesn’t require much use of HTML or such, at least on my end of things. It was developed to be easier for the common person, so it is a lot easier than creating webpages used to be. I kind of want to learn JavaScript, Flash, and more HTML, but I am still a wee little intern (but that includes fun tasks like gluing papers to folders to break up the monotony) and actually like learning this stuff.

My boss comes and asks if I am ready for my next “dull boring exciting fun mind-numbing repetitive task” or he shortens it to “mind-numbing repetitive task” when he doesn’t want to say it all. Kind of makes me laugh. So I do repetitive things (is this redundant enough?) all day long. Yay distractions!

I would highly recommend the older movies for those who enjoy a good film. Though, not Pete’s Dragon… it kind of creeped me out since I was a kid, the dragon snickering and such without really talking. Now as an adult it makes me think “He needs an adult!”  Horrible, I know. Bedknobs and Broomsticks is an amazing film and very nostalgic to me (I know, a movie made shortly after my parents were born is nostalgic to me… weird, huh? Not really.) and I am glad to have seen it again.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Life in General, Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movies, shows, and how I spend my day at work

  1. That’s… a lot of films. Wow. I’ve been doing a massive Doctor Who rewatch off and on for the past month or so, but I still can’t match your numbers.

    • N T says:

      Yeah… I definitely need something running in the background while I do my job (lots of click,click,click and copy/paste) or I will go bonkers, so I basically have something running the whole time. So that is for 37.5 hours a week… gives you lots of time to watch stuff.

Leave a Reply

