Teriyaki egg and multi-flavored rice

So now that wedding and honeymoon times have settled down, I am working on rearranging my house to fit everything. I am also working really hard on more experimental cooking.

So here is my newest recipe which was fun to make and I think a tasty success! Definitely a bit salty, so I am glad I didn’t add any salt to it. It started as a “what do I have?” type of thing. I saw I had leftover corn on the cob (boiled with butter!) and decided it would go good in rice. It is amazing how things go when you just wing it!

I was going to use soy sauce, but I realized I have none, so I went with the very similar teriyaki sauce. This recipe is separated into two parts, the rice base and the egg topping.

Rice Base

Ingredients

  • 3c uncooked rice
  • 1 corn on the cob, corn cut off
  • 3 pearl onions, peeled and chopped
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 3T teriyaki sauce
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 fresh leaves of basil, chopped relatively fine
  • enough water for 5c rice (because of veggies. Make sure to have extra water so your rice is not crunchy (I had to cook mine again).)

Directions

  1. wash the rice
  2. mix the ingredients together in the rice cooker (making sure there is extra water! I know, I said this a lot, but this is important!)
  3. push the button to start the rice cooker!

So while this is going, get started with the egg topping! It was really simple but don’t let your pan get too hot before hand!

Teriyaki egg topping (1 person)

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 leaves fresh basil, chopped
  • 2T teriyaki sauce
  • 1T olive oil

Directions

  1. Heat the teriyaki sauce and olive oil in a pan (on med-low)
  2. put the eggs in carefully (they will pop if you put it directly in hot oil!)
  3. scramble the eggs
  4. before the eggs are fully cook, add the basil
  5. when fully cooked, put on top of finished rice mixture.

As a garnish, add a bit of grated Parmesan and a tiny bit of lemon.

This did come out a bit salty, perhaps use a bit less teriyaki than I did. Also make sure your rice is fully cooked and fluffy, which I had to twice-cook mine to achieve. So that is why my recipe calls for extra water, since the veggies make you need it. One final thing I would change would be to add more colors… like maybe some carrot in place of some of the corn. I liked how the basil added a nice fresh flavor, and I had fun picking it from my garden today. So there are some things I think were good and some that needed help. But it is experimental cooking, so it is live and learn, eh?

There is unfortunately no picture this time around. I tell you, though, it was pretty with the greens. Lemon juice should be used sparingly, but adds a nice tang.

So when you experiment, have fun! You might find something tasty.

Good luck!
~N

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Experimental Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teriyaki egg and multi-flavored rice

Leave a Reply

