Experimental Cooking: Energy Bars (no nuts)

So, I have been trying to find a good energy bar that doesn’t have shriveled corpses of fruit (i.e. raisins, craisins or anything of that variety) and stumbled upon a tasty-looking recipe for Cinnamon-Chocolate energy bars. So, looking at the recipe on some cooking site, I decided to try it.

The recipe didn’t have much cinnamon, I saw, so I upped it (experimenting, yay!) and I was sadly out of walnuts. So this version has only chocolate chips for the chunks, but will be expanded to include a 1/2c walnuts when they become available.

Because it was SO tasty, I think I will have to put it in my cookbook! Though perhaps I should wait till after round two with walnuts involved. Nah. For those who don’t like nuts, this recipe is for you!

Chocolate Cinnamon Energy Bars

Ingredients

  • 2T vegetable shortening, butter or mararine (grease pan AND aluminum foil, but I didn’t)
  • 2 1/2c Rolled oats
  • 2/3c brown sugar (packed)
  • 1t ground cinnamon
  • 1c all-purpose flour
  • 1/4t baking soda
  • 1/2c mini chocolate morsels (or plain sized like I used)
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/2c honey
  • 1/2c vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2t vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, grease 9×13 pan and line with foil, then grease foil.
  2. in LARGE bowl, mix the dry ingredients
  3. add in the wet ingredients and mix well
  4. spoon (or dump) into pan and with the bottom of a measuring cup (or spoon) smash firmly into the pan
  5. bake 25-30 minutes, or until bars are slightly darker at the edges than center
  6. cool on wire rack for 15-20 minutes, then cut with a serrated knife into 3×1 inch bars
  7. *wrap individually in sandwich bags or seran wrap, or store in airtight container
  8. EAT AND ENJOY!

* I did not do this, I doubled them up for portion control but otherwise didn’t pay attention to this step.

I can’t vouch for the energy part of this bar, but it is packed with carbs and sugars so I don’t doubt it will help. Once I add the protein (nuts) it will be even more healthy. And I may add some flax or something to up the fiber… Maybe.

These turned out tasty, very filling, and beautiful.

Starting to cut them up, they looked like this (please ignore the fact I cannot cut evenly):

Please ignore the fact that I cannot cut straight. Not so bad now, but the sized ended up really different at the end. 😦

Individually, it looked like this:

So, I tried to do a 3/4 view but it didn't work, so here is my topview of it. Because I didn't use mini-chips there are varying degrees of chocolatey-ness. This was one of the biggerish ones. (Yup, not a word but I like to make them up.) It was tasty, but almost too big!

So there you have it, folks. A nut-free energy bar. Again, I cannot vouch for the energy-inspiring part, but it sure fills you up and is tasty! Even raw (no eggs!).

Happy cooking!
~N

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Chocolate, Experimental Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

