Experimental Cooking: Food-Chan Yaki

Hokay, I have made another tasty thing when experimenting tonight. It is tasty for sure. I will post it as I made it, but I will likely modify it over and over again. It is loosely based on the recipe of Chan-Chan Yaki I found online. This is a good recipe to play around with.

Isn't it tasty looking? I wish I had more green and orange in it, but maybe next time.

Food-Chan Yaki

Ingredients (I used this time)

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breast, cubed in 1/4 inch pieces
  • 1 lb California Blend (frozen veggies consisting of cauliflower, Broccoli, and carrots.)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 can bean sprouts
  • 2T aka miso (brand 1)
  • 2T aka miso (brand 2)
  • 2T brown sugar
  • 1.5T mirin
  • 2T sake
  • 3 T butter (I used margarine)
  • 1T soy

Steps

  1. Heat vegetables in 1c water in a wok till unfrozen, unstuck and slightly warm. Drain.
  2. Crack eggs into wok, stir to make scrambled eggs.
  3. Add  1T oil and the cut chicken meat
  4. Add veggies when meat is mostly cooked.
  5. Add canned bean sprouts.
  6. While those cook… mix the rest of the ingredients into a sauce.
  7. Put sauce on top and mix until butter melts.
  8. Pull off the heat and serve

SERVES 4

This was pretty good. I think I might add something next time. Oh, and I used brown sugar because I lacked white sugar and I actually cooked the meat after, adding the mixed veggies. But I decided to put it before the veggies in the directions because the chicken will cook better that way.

I called it “Food-Chan Yaki” as a play off Chan-Chan Yaki… I just used what food I found that looked good. And that means I can substitute things any time I want. This was a good combination.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Experimental Cooking, Japanese Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Experimental Cooking: Food-Chan Yaki

  1. solaris1972 says:

    Food-Chan Yaki is good idea:)! I believed that Chan-Chan Yaki needs salmon and shiro miso. I will enjoy Food-Chan Yaki freely:D!

    • N B says:

      It really was an experiment. I wanted chan-chan yaki but I didn’t have salmon or shiro miso on hand. I decided that I would just use the same sauce (with two different aka miso, since I had no shiro miso) and put it on what I had available.

      It will be fun to make again. Glad you enjoyed the idea! Good luck making yours!

Leave a Reply

