Lasagna!

So, I have no picture of this one today. I last made it over two weeks ago and I forgot to take a picture then. I was just watching Food Network and the host of the hour was cooking lasagna. I wanted to blog my current recipe for it. I owe part of this recipe to my mother, and another part to my mother-in-law.

Oh, and if you don’t feel like using zucchini, you can up the meat content, or feel free to use different veggies. One thing I like, it is so versatile!

FYI — This recipe will fill your pan to the tippy-top!

Lasagna
Serves 12

Ingredients

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 small onion
  • 5-6 cloves garlic
  • 1.5 lbs ground meat (I generally use turkey or beef)
  • 1 can or jar of your favourite tomato sauce
  • 1-2T brown sugar (based on tomato sauce, more acidic=more brown sugar)
  • 1 box lasagna noodles
  • 1 12-oz container sour cream (This takes the place of ricotta or cottage cheese and when cooked has the same flavour)
  • Shredded Cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Cut zucchini to 1/4″ pieces or smaller.
  3. Put water, a small amount of oil and some salt in a large pot and bring to a boil.
  4. When boiling, add noodles and let cook while you cook the rest, but be sure to remove when aldente.
  5. Put a small amount of oil in a large saucepan and put it on a burner set to low.
  6. Mince garlic in fine pieces and place in the oil and stir. This will release the aroma
  7. Chop onions into small pieces, sized to your preference.
  8. Put the onions in the pan and increase the temperature to medium.
  9. Once the onion is translucent, add the meat. Crumble the ground meat as it browns. Brown most of the way.
  10. Drain the grease off of the meat, then place back in the pan. Add zucchini and cook until the zucchini is mostly tender.
  11. Add the tomato sauce and the brown sugar and heat until bubbles. (The brown sugar cuts the acid.)
  12. Get your 9×13 baking pan and spread a ladle-full of sauce on the end.
  13. Put down a layer of noodles, being sure they overlap some
  14. Spread the sour cream on the noodles
  15. Add about 1/3 of the sauce
  16. Spread with desired amount of cheese
  17. Repeat steps 12 through 15 twice.
  18. Put in the oven for about 25 minutes, or until the cheese is all melted and starts to bubble and turn golden brown.
  19. Remove from oven and cut into 12 pieces.

I think I would like to eventually add more vegetables to this recipe. I also didn’t put in a cheese amount because really it is up to you. I have seen people put 2lb on, some 1lb, and some barely add any cheese because they are on a diet. I also didn’t specify a type. I have used sharp cheddar, colby jack and mozzarella before. I have to say sharp cheddar is my favourite.

Yup, a very fatty food, generally one I pair with a large green salad (which usually involves shredded carrots), and occasionally with garlic bread as well. The sauce is from my mommy (tweaked with some zucchini) and the sour cream was a good idea I got from my mother-in-law. It is so much cheaper than buying the cottage cheese and ricotta. That really makes it so much more accessible to people with low budgets.

So a special thanks goes out to both mommies for their contributions to this recipe.

The zucchini was a flash of inspiration I had that my friend Annie went along with… we found it was a great flash of inspiration and increased the amount of veggies in this dish. I know, hiding veggies and enriching the texture. Sneaky sneaky… Which is why I might add carrots and peas or broccoli. Some more veggies is a good idea. Goodness knows I don’t get enough. Oh, and the garlic? Yeah, still addicted. I found out it is a good thing, since I am overweight (hence wanting to add more veggies and less cheese) and garlic is good for heart and artery health! So that is likely a reason my bp and hr are still really good.

Last time I made this recipe, I ran around for an hour afterward. Probably should have run around for an hour before, too. Maybe next time!

Good eating and I hope you enjoy this recipe.

~Me

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Family, Foods From Childhood, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

