Experimental Cooking: Thursday-Night Stir Fry

I was bored tonight and decided to make up a stir-fry recipe. Yay! It is really what I had in my kitchen to work with but it tasted soo good. I was excited by the different colours, and today’s stir-fry was about 80% vegetables. There’s my very healthy food for the day!

So I purchased my vegetables from the Dollar store, which is nice and cheap and incredibly convenient for me. That is why it is mostly veggies, I think. I just decided to use the whole bag of broccoli/cauliflower and the last half of the peas/carrot mix.

The only thing you may not be able to find (unless you know a good Asian-import store) is the furikake. Furikake is a mix of sesame seeds, nori (toasted seaweed) and bonito flakes. It is a condiment from Japan used much like salt and pepper, or crushed pepper flakes (also loved in Japan). I have asked a few of my Japanese-exchange friends and I guess this stuff goes on almost anything with rice, chicken, eggs, fried foods… the list went on so I will just assume it is extensively used.

Now, this version is rather “bland” and not covered in a heavy sauce as many stir-frys are. My husband only needed a little soy sauce for his, and he is a sauce lover. I mean, he puts sauce on everything if he could. And cheese, but cheese generally doesn’t go with Asian cuisine.

Hubby and I worked together to make this (we generally cook together) and it took us about 45 minutes from prep to eating. This will take longer if you use fresh, uncut vegetables. I had none on hand thus used frozen. Remember, feel free to use veggies du jour, just leave a little extra time for preparation and cooking.

This recipe is just the version I cooked tonight.

Doesn't this look beautiful? I love the vibrancy of these colors.

Thursday-Night Stir Fry

Serves 4-8 depending on serving size
Cook time: 45 minutes

Ingredients

  • Rice, enough for a little under the stir-fry
  • 1lb bag of frozen broccoli+Cauliflower “California Mix”
  • 7oz frozen peas and carrots.
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 4 eggs
  • 6-8T sesame oil (some for frying and some to taste)
  • 2T Soy Sauce (Only a little, don’t wanna lose the colors)
  • 2 large cloves garlic

Directions

  1. Wash and start the rice cooking. (Watch it!)
  2. Mince the garlic into small pieces
  3. Put a pan on the stove on low to medium-low heat and put 2T sesame oil in it
  4. Put the broccoli and cauliflower mix in a strainer and run under warm water to partially thaw.
  5. Cut Broccoli and Cauliflower into small pieces (to desired size)
  6. Put the minced garlic in the oil and stir.
  7. Repeat step 4, but with the peas and carrots.
  8. Cut the chicken in 1/4″ pieces
  9. Change the heat under the wok from low/med-low to medium heat and add the chicken. Cook until mostly done.
  10. Move the chicken to the corners of the wok and crack the eggs into the bottom of the wok. Fry eggs until mostly cooked.
  11. Add the veggies and cook till they are hot.
  12. Add the rest of the sesame oil and add the soy sauce. Stir.
  13. Sprinkle with desired amount of furikake (I used about 1T-1.5T). Stir.
  14. Serve over the rice.

I use a rice cooker, so I put it in and ignore. You may need to pay more attention. Don’t burn your rice! It will taste bad.So there you have it! It was really yummy and I am hoping pretty low in fat. So many veggies!! And so tasty!

And for the skeptics. No, it does not taste like health. It tastes like veggies with a little chicken, egg, and seasoning. And I really didn’t want to hide the veggies in this dish, I wanted them to shine through in all their tasty glory.

Hope it goes as well for you as me!

~N

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Asian-Inspired, Experimental Cooking, Japanese Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Experimental Cooking: Thursday-Night Stir Fry

  1. Oooh, this looks tasty. I should make it, since everything involved is stuff I (obviously) can get in Japan. And I have some chicken in the freezer waiting to be cooked! I need a wok, but I’ve been meaning to buy one, anyway. I’ll add some stuff to my grocery list and maybe do this on Sunday.

    Also, I totally read your blog, I just get distracted easily and forget to comment. I’m fail like that.

    • N B says:

      I an glad you wanna make it! It was really fresh and good. I wanna see a pic of yours when you make it.

      Also, you are a teacher in a foreign country… so it is more understandable. I mostly refer to the sudden spike in views today. At least 49 site wide! But when you do have time I appreciate the comment.

Leave a Reply

