Dinner Double-Header

Yup, to make up for not featuring recipes in a bit I am putting up not one but TWO dinner/food recipes. Please remember that despite living with my hubby for some time, I am still used to cooking for lots of people, so these recipes make LOTS of food. But I can live with that because leftover dinners make good lunches to take to work. I also tend to feed my friends, too, so there you go.

First up tonight is a dinner from a couple nights ago. I haven’t given it a name but it is pretty much a veggie-rich hash. The list of ingredients is a bit long and this feels samish to what I have been cooking lately. I have been liking adding lots of colors to my dinner through different veggies, and I like to stick it all in one pot/dish/bowl when I can. Makes it easier to deal with in my mind. I also like Chicken better than ground beef (Which is mostly what I can afford in beef) and eggs are a great source of protein. And I try to make sure there is at least one protein in my food, and recently at least one veggie. That, and my budget, limits what I feel like creating.

Here it is:

Ooooh. This was SO good!

Veggie-rich Chicken and Egg Hash

Serves 4-8

depending on hungriness

Ingredients

  • 1 Med-Lg potato
  • 1/3 fresh yam
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1T olive oil
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 6 eggs
  • 14oz frozen green beans
  • 1/4c shredded cheese

Directions

  1. Put green beans in a strainer and run under hot water till partially thawed.
  2. Chop potato, yam, and onion into 1/2″ chunks
  3. mince garlic
  4. heat oil in a large pan on low and stir in garlic
  5. increase heat to medium and add onions and yams, cook till yams are partially cooked
  6. add potatoes and chicken, heat till chicken is mostly cooked
  7. Make a hole in the middle of the pan and crack eggs into there, scramble.
  8. Add mostly-thawed frozen green beans and stir well
  9. Cover with a lid and let cook for about 5 minutes.
  10. Top with a little cheese

I added a small biscuit because it felt like I needed something more when I ate it. It was very, very tasty. I was excited to eat it and (as I noted already) I was thrilled with all the bright colors in my dish. More colors = more nutritious, right?

So, I promised this would be a double-header, so following is another recipe. And yes, it feels almost exactly the same as above except kind of different. The following is a variant of tuna casserole, except lacking egg noodles I used spaghetti. And I used the rest of the bag of California mix and the rest of the bag of peas instead of canned peas.

The giant carrots were my favourite part of this dish.

Tuna-veggie pasta

Serves 6-8 depending on hungriness 

Ingredients

  • 1 lb angel hair pasta
  • 1/2 lb California Mix (this is 1/2 the bag)
  • 7 oz peas (this is 1/2 the bag)
  • 2 cans tuna (in water!)
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil, add the pasta and frozen veggies and cook until the pasta and veggies are fully cooked. Drain.
  2. Open and drain the two cans of tuna, open the can of condensed cream of chicken soup.
  3. Combine pasta/veggie mix, both cans of tuna, and the chicken soup. Stir well and serve and enjoy.

Yup, there are pretty much only three basic steps to this recipe. The different veggies again add color, taste and texture. I personally like cauliflower and broccoli. If these aren’t your thing, feel free to substitute in other vegetables. Remember, fresh veggies may take longer to cook than those that are frozen, because frozen are actually partially cooked first. πŸ˜€

So they look pretty much the same and they have pretty much the same veggies. They are amazingly tasty, though. Maybe another creation will include ground beef soon. Or, if I can afford it, something like steak or something. Mmm!

Till next time.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Asian-Inspired, Experimental Cooking, Foods From Childhood, Life in General, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinner Double-Header

  1. Pingback: Oh the spam… Part deux | Forward! Life Awaits.

Leave a Reply

