Experimental Cooking: Savory Crepes! (v1)

You read correctly: Crepes!

I was looking through my kitchen and (after having to throw a fair amount of forgotten food away. 😦  ) I was uncertain what I should make for dinner. I started to flip through my cookbook and see if I could find anything that sounded good to me at that moment.

These were really tasty... I think next time less sugar, but these were really good!

I found crepes and thought “That’s a dessert, that won’t work…” and started to turn the page. Then I remembered every crepe shop I had ever been to had savory crepes along with their standard sweet crepes. That meant I could definitely make dinner with them, if I was creative enough…

It was a little sweet, so I am going to post this recipe cutting the sugar content. This recipe makes four 10-inch crepes.

Savory crepes – base

Ingredients

  • 1c milk
  • 1/4c water
  • 1T sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 1c flour
  • 2T dried Chives
  • 1T dried Basil
  • –oil for frying–

Directions

  1. Whisk water, milk, salt and sugar together until salt and sugar are dissolved.
  2. Mix in the flour and whisk till there are no lumps.
  3. Add chives and basil and mix until thoroughly incorporated.
  4. heat the pan on medium/medium-low heat on the stove and add enough oil to thinly coat the bottom.
  5. When the oil is warm, ladle a good amount of the mixture into the pan and swirl the pan slowly to increase the crepe size and make it a thin layer, sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds.
  6. When the bottom is lightly brown and the crepe slides easily in the pan, flip over.
  7. When the crepe is lightly brown on the second side, flip onto a plate with paper towels or napkins.
  8. Dab off the oil and transfer to another plate (so the paper doesn’t stick)

Savory Crepes – filling and topping

Ingredients

  • Mayonnaise to taste
  • Soy sauce to taste
  • 1 can tuna (some will go on top)
  • 3 hard boiled eggs, sliced

Directions

  1. Take the base, spread with desired amount of mayo and top with amount of soy sauce
  2. Sprinkle about 1/5 of the canned tuna in the crepe, and about 1/4 of the egg.
  3. Roll up the crepe and let it sit seam-side down on a plate.
  4. Repeat steps with the other crepe bases.
  5. Top with the other 1/5 can of tuna and desired amount of soy sauce as a drizzle.
  6. Enjoy!

So there you have it! Tasty savory crepes. I hope you enjoy it. I really did and so did my husband (even with the extra sweetness, which I removed here). This will be a cheap, easy dinner that we will do again.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Experimental Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

