Oyakodon!

Well, it has been relatively uneventful until today. Today we had to go to the DMV to get a Driver’s Record for Josh. He was given the heads up about a medical transport job and he is likely to get the job due to economic hardship and he likes to drive. We also had some excitement in the neighborhood in the form of misunderstood loud shouting that was mistaken for dv, but wasn’t. The sounds were unrelated.

But recently a friend of mine in the complex had a sick kid. Her friend also did, but little one #2 had a fever of 102+! I tried to look in her throat but couldn’t see. She had a cough, too. I offered if the fever got worse to drive them somewhere if needed, since they had no car. Apparently that makes me nice, to offer teas that might help and any assistance I could. I hate seeing people hurt or unable to get medical attention. Might have to do with my mom being a nurse and taking care of everyone or trying to make sure they get the care they need. They also called me mature, which makes me giggle. I am far from it in so many respects (some of which can be found in this blog!), but I guess for 22 I am okay. I have seen 15-year-olds with more maturity than I. Oh well. It was a nice compliment even if I kind of disagree. πŸ˜›

Well, that night I was thinking of what to make for dinner and decided to make oyakodon. The neighbors looked at me funny when I said what I was making and I had to explain it was a Japanese food. Their experience with oriental food was from a Chinese store or from a box… So we decided to feed everyone and make it.

They were surprised! One that they liked it, two that it wasn’t all that expensive, and three that the chicken and eggs and onions were well balanced between sweet and salty. One person had never heard of eggs being sweet before. Oh well… I haven’t heard of a lot of things before! Or tried them.

So I made them try it. The recipe I have is partially based of of a cooking show online called Cooking With Dog, and partially based on a recipe that my Japanese friend gave me. Since recipes differ between families and regions, I offer this amalgamation that I enjoy for your cooking endeavours.Β  Oyakodon is traditionally served over rice. We also serve ours with veggies like broccoli, edamame, or green beans. We also serve it, generally, with miso soup.

Oyakodon
Per-Serving(ish)

Ingredients

  • 100mL Dashi stock
  • 1.5T soy sauce
  • 1/2T sugar
  • 1/2T mirin
  • 1/2T sake
  • 1/2 small onion
  • 1 chicken breast (smallish)
  • 2 eggs

Directions

  1. Start rice as desired (white rice is best, it soaks up the sauce. I also do it in a rice cooker. If you don’t, be sure to keep an eye on it! Don’t let it burn!)
  2. Mix the Dashi stock, sake, soy sauce, sugar, and mirin in a large pot and bring to a boil on Medium heat
  3. Slice the onion into thin slices.
  4. Cut the chicken into 1″ cubes.
  5. Add onions to boiling sauce, boil till mostly translucent.
  6. Add the chicken.
  7. Scramble the eggs in a bowl and when the chicken is mostly cooked, add.
  8. Stir until desired doneness (I prefer mine mostly cooked, some prefer it lesser cooked)

I make it with lots of sauce so that I can let it soak into the rice. Nummy! I also tend to make an extra serving or two when I make it for my husband and/or I to have lunch the next day. It keeps really well. Every time I make this recipe I think of the people who I made it with originally, friends who returned to Japan, friends that are now in Japan, and friends from around here. I hope you get to try this and that it makes you feel full, happy, and a great sense of community.

Have fun with this one! Mirin and Sake are sold in some grocery stores, but in some cases you may have to find an asian import or specialty store. Good luck!

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Asian-Inspired, Friends, Japanese Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oyakodon!

  1. Pingback: A recap of 1.26.11 | Forward! Life Awaits.

Leave a Reply

