Foods From Childhood: Dad’s Country(?) Fried Chicken

Headed over to a friend’s house tonight for dinner, and I was wondering how to prepare the chicken I offered to bring. The other part of the meal consists of cheesy potatoes, so I wanted something tasty and goes with anything without being too bland. I was cruising recipes online when it hit me, I can use my daddy’s recipe for country(?) fried chicken! I use the question mark because I don’t know if he defines it as just plain old fried chicken, or as country fried chicken.

So, yes. This is another installment of Foods from my Childhood. I call it my daddy’s recipe because he is the one who usually makes it. I am not sure if it is a family recipe or no, but it is quickly becoming one.

It is a fairly simple recipe and easy to cook. Though, I should warn you, it is a two-preparation recipe. DON’T let this scare you! It is really just to make sure the chicken is really fully cooked when you serve it. You start by frying it nice and golden on the outside, then bake it to make sure it is fully cooked.

Dad’s Country(?) Fried Chicken
Total time: 30-45 minutes
Serves: 4-6

Ingredients

  • 1c Flour
  • salt to taste
  • garlic powder to taste
  • 3 eggs
  • 4 large chicken breasts, cut to be manageable sizes (too thick will take longer to cook!)
  • oil for frying

Directions

  1. Get your 9×13 pan and put in the oven, preheat to 350 degrees F.
  2. Cut your chicken breasts into manageable pieces, trim as desired.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients on a plate.
  4. Scramble eggs on a separate plate
  5. Heat the oil in a pan on Medium heat.
  6. Dip chicken in the DRY mixture first! and coat entirely.
  7. Dip in the eggs
  8. Add to skillet to fry (do not worry about cooking all the way through!) Once it is golden on both sides, put in the oven pan.
  9. Bake about 20 minutes after the last piece goes in to make sure it is all cooked through.
  10. Stir the leftover flour mix with the leftover eggs and fry as little “pancakes” (this was my favourite part growing up!)
  11. Serve and Enjoy!

It really is amazing and I hope you enjoy it. Feel free to add/decrease different components till you find one you like. This is just how I like to do it, based firmly in the way my daddy does it. We use lots of garlic in my house, too.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Family, Foods From Childhood, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

