Seven years!

Warning: Rather gushy post ahead about my husband and I.Β  I am incredibly gushy… but you get to know how we met and how we got together. If that helps.

Yep, as of five minutes before starting this post (midnight-o-five) my husband and I celebrate five years together. The gifts suggested for the 7-year anniversary (okay, these are the wedding anniversary suggestions, but it is still funny to write about) is wool or copper. Honestly, those are the traditional gifts and, considering how useful wool is at keeping warm and how copper is good for cooking, decor, jewelry, etc. My gift for him? Well, I have to keep it a secret until afterward because he may actually read this post. Who knows.

See? We been together since the most fun thing to do outside was kick tumbleweeds and shoot the breeze.

We have been through many ups and downs throughout the seven years together. There have been some years that were tougher than others and one potential breakup the entire time we have been together (that was a really hard semester in multiple ways). Overall, I would say it has been rewarding.

We remember the days leading up to today with fond remembrance. We were going to go to a dance, and decided to go to a restaurant beforehand. Someone suggested the restaurant in the Pearl District called The Blue Hour….Why did we listen? The menue had no prices and was written up every day. It was that kind of restaurant. There was me, my (now) husband, my parents, and his parents (I was 15 and not allowed to go on dates on my own until I was 16)… and the bill came to $300! I am not joking! I was floored when I found out! Anywho, we got to the location and found out that it had been snowed out…. and no one had called to inform me. 😦

The day of the re-scheduled dance, we went to my parent’s church and enjoyed their annual spaghetti dinner. It was a lot of fun, but I had to keep the sauce off of my dress… and that was hard. It was a heck of a lot cheaper than our first attempt. I also had about 3lbs less hairspray and less than 5% of the makeup on that I originally did on our first attempt. We went to a dance together as friends with a big group of my lovely SMA girls. While we were there, we enjoyed the usual things. Since girls at my all-girls high school do actually know guys socially, there were plenty of guys to dance with and plenty of girls to be silly with. πŸ˜€Β  Anywho, while we were dancing near the speakers (which is the favourite spot of my friends) and Josh said something about being my boyfriend. I didn’t catch all of it so I asked if he was calling himself my boyfriend. He didn’t answer me. It frustrated me to no end.

The stinker still didn’t answer me until two days later when we were at dance class. On Mondays we had native dance classes, where you see we actually met. We worked together in many different kinds of cultural jobs teaching Native Culture. Anywho, we had engaged in a “poke war” a number of weeks prior between him, a friend, my sister, and myself. I asked him “Are you calling yourself my boyfriend?” at the end of dance class and he said, “Well… what if I am?” I looked at him and said “Well, then I guess I will have to call myself your girlfriend.” I turned and poked him and walked away and that was that. Though.. to me it was one of those things where it was just a title to me (hubby tells me now that he answered as he did because every time he thought of the question he thought “I love her.” Awwww.) and it took me a few months to actually realize I was in love with him.

That was seven years ago. Today I celebrate not only my six month wedding anniversary, but my seven-year-together anniversary with my husband. As I said, it has been really rewarding. Better yet, we both survived! πŸ˜‰

Okay, this is a different dance and you can't see our faces, but a picture from when we were in high school going to school dances together. The blue tunic is actually my father's, which is why it is too big for him. But it is so cute. πŸ˜€

I have to thank my parents, his parents, and my friends, who have supported us throughout the years. Without you I don’t think we would have survived.

Sorry to those who had to listen to my frustration with him and my whining and complaining when we fought, or had to listen to me gush with incredible joy and loving-ness when I was euphorically happy.

And thanks if you read all this. I am so excited for my husband’s present and looking forward to a (cheap!) movie during the day and the possibilities of bowling and dinner! Which may or may not happen at the same time. It will be really fun. πŸ˜€ Yep, I am gushing again…

Here’s to a great day.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Family, Life in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven years!

  1. Congrats on your 6 month anniversary!! I wish you both much continued happiness and blessings!

Leave a Reply

