New Favourite Pro Singer

I have gushed about this guy on a certain social network already, so many of you dear readers will have already heard of him. However, for those of you who do not follow me on said network, this may be something new (and not so repetitive).

I have been working on trying to write this post for a while and was sad when wordpress wasn’t working very well. As in it took forever to load and had all sorts of issues when I was trying to navigate to anywhere on the wordpress site. It may have been from maintenance I didn’t know about, or perhaps many people were logging in at once, or maybe even my computer itself was being sluggish (though other resource-intensive sites were working just fine… hmmm). I am not entirely sure why, but after much ado here is my post about my new favourite singer.

His name is Nick Pitera. And he is really a great singer. I don’t just mean really great… I have started to keep an eye on his blog, now that I know it exists. I have also started following his youtube account. Now, there are really two of them (the second one is here), but the second one doesn’t have as many videos and most of the favourites are his other account.

This guy does amazing covers. One one side of this many-sided gem is his ability to mimic other singers. As in, he can mimic Lady Gaga, Madonna, Jasmine (in A Whole New World), and that guy who plays Raoul in the most recent Phantom of the Opera, just to name a few. Below is a great example of his mimicry.

Another side is the range and tonality this guy is able to pull off. He is able to mimic a woman’s voice to the point of making me wonder if he has some girl standing in the background singing those woman’s parts. Except I am pretty sure that after so many videos he would have made some kind of note to that affect, were it the case.Β  He has the range from bass to soprano. It really is crazy. I bet he has been training his voice for pretty much all his life. Who knows? He has wicked control of his falsetto, as shown in his “All I Ask Of You” from Phantom of the Opera (below).

He has done Disney covers, such as “A Whole New World” from Aladdin, and his most recent “I See The Light” from Tangled. Both are great and I am linking you to them because they are great.

I literally spent an hour jumping through his stuff and listening. It is amazing. If I get another iTunes giftcard, I am so buying his stuff. Oh yeah, he is on iTunes and (I think) Amazon. I wanna listen to some of his original work, too, so that would be an excellent opportunity.

I hope you enjoy this musical post and broaden your horizons. Please feel free to share music you enjoy with me, too! πŸ˜€

~N

(Now to go get everything together for my interview tomorrow!

P.S Anyone want Indian Tacos? I have too much leftovers and wish I could feed it to someone… I will post the frybread recipe before too long!)

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Music, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Favourite Pro Singer

  1. Ash says:

    Holy crap I love Nick Patera. If you watch his video in chronological order it becomes obvious just how much more control of his voice he has now than in his earlier videos. His cover of miley cyrus’s “The Climb” is awesome, but when he hits some of the higher notes in the song he could have put some more power behind them. It doesn’t seem he has that problem these days :D.

    • N B says:

      Oh yeah, he has been training hard. I can’t imagine how much training he has to do to have such wonderful control of that falsetto… My goodness!
      I really admire that dedication.

Leave a Reply

