Frybread Recipe

Hey all!

I have had many requests from friends and family to post this recipe or email it to people. I have decided to put it here so I can just send the link to people and won’t have to hunt it down to write it out again. Now you, dear reader, can learn to make frybread!

Wait… you do know what frybread is, right? It is a bread made with simple ingredients. It supposedly stems from the times when Natives were pushed onto reservations and given supplies by the government. According to what I heard, it was generally moldy or undesired flour and bad oil. The Natives had to figure out a way to use these rations and there was the birth of frybread. It was created all across the US and is made very different ways. Some people like fluffy thick frybread, and some like it thin and crispy. It really depends on what you grew up with. Here is the wiki article about it. It doesn’t say much more than I said here. Though I will call your attention to the “Indian taco” at the bottom right of the page. We made those Superbowl Sunday (post game) and it was amazingly delicious. You should try to make it!

This is a piece of frybread. The image is actually kind of old and borrowed from a friend's social network page, but it was one of the few images I could find some of us making frybread.

I will warn you, it is kinda tough. I don’t have an exact amount of water to use, nor do I have an exact temperature for the oil to be. I will post it in the relative terms I know and understand. This dough will be partway between pancake batter and biscuit dough… so perhaps a thinnish biscuit dough?

I am posting the version that feeds about 7-12 people frybread. I am thinking a piece per person. It is really inexpensive for feeding so many.

Frybread
Feeds 7-10 people

Ingredients

  • 4c flour (and a tad more for forming the dough/keeping it from sticking)
  • 1t salt
  • 2/3-1T sugar (less for non-sweet frybread)
  • 1 heaping T baking powder
  • WARM water (enough to make dough to the above-stated consistency)
  • Oil for deep-frying (corn is best, canola second best)

Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients in LARGE bowl.
  2. Add water SLOWLY to make dough at above stated consistency.
  3. Refrigerate overnight (or at least 30 min, but overnight is better. No longer than 24 hours).
  4. After refrigerated, take out and heat oil.
  5. With flour on your hands, take a palm-sized ball of dough and roll in hands 10 times. Flatten into a disk
  6. Deep-fry in hot oil (to where a tester piece rises quickly and starts to brown in a short amount of time) until golden brown and cooked all the way through (flipping over halfway through).

So… that is frybread. Really, I test the oil a number of times until I am satisfied that the tester piece rose quick enough and started to turn lightly brown after a short amount of time.

WARNING: if your oil is too hot, it will burn the outside before the interior is done. If it is too cold, you will get really greasy, oil-soaked bread.

One of my favourite things to do, as I mentioned, is make Indian Tacos. If everyone pitches in a topping it is really cheap to make a dinner for a group of people. I think the frybread is the cheapest part! It is a lot of fun to make it. Here is some of a typical Indian Taco set of foods.

The taco meat and beans. We usually also have cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, olives, and sour cream. πŸ˜€

WARNING (another one, I know)!!!! YOU WILL END UP COVERED IN FLOUR!!! I would not recommend wearing a black shirt (though I tend to do it for some dumb reason). My friend did the time I made her do most of the work… She wanted to learn how to make them, and the best way to learn is by doing!

Lexi covered in flour and pondering the done-ness of a piece of frybread. She did so well!

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Family, Foods From Childhood, Friends, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

