Quick, Easy Beer-Bread

So, I was given this recipe via one of the lovely people on the Native Forum on etsy. I owe him, and everyone else there, a great debt for all the love, caring, and support I get there on a daily basis. Like any good Native community, they are like a very caring, supportive family of cousins and aunties and uncles. Oh, the guy’s username is 1eggman, we lovingly call him Eggie.

Eggie’s Beer Bread
Makes 1 smallish loaf

Ingredients

  • 3.5c    All-purpose flour
  • 3T       Sugar
  • 1T       Baking Powder
  • 1.5t    Salt
  • 12oz  Beer
  • 1          Egg, beaten.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F, with rack on middle-lower position.
  2. Coat a baking sheet (cookie sheet) with oil or cooking spray.
  3. In a large bowl, mix dry ingredients
  4. Add beer and stir with a fork until well blended.
  5. Dump dough onto floured surface and knead into a ball (time not determined, so I did about ten minutes)
  6. Put the ball of dough on the cookie sheet, and  cut an x across the top with a sharp knife.
  7. Brush with egg wash and put in oven
  8. Bake for 45 min, or until golden brown.
  9. Eat and enjoy!

Okay, I added the last step and oiling the cookie sheet. I don’t like my things to stick, so I like to use the coating to keep it from happening. Most of the beer flavor cooks out, so if you are not fond of beer this still works well.

Oh, and a suggestion was to go ahead and just use cheap beer, since it bakes just as well. I was told “don’t waste the expensive beer,” from someone who quite enjoys beer. We used Busch beer. And had to make two batches since the corner market doesn’t sell the 12-oz cans individually, but will sell a 24-oz can.

The first time I accidentally didn’t read the “cooking sheet” part, so I used a loaf pan. The subsequent result was to have to bake it for another 20 minutes to get it baked all the way through. Oops. It was still tasty. It was two days ago and the piece I cut off today was still nice and moist and delicious, despite only being poorly wrapped in plastic wrap. I ate it while writing this post and boy was it delish!  Since all of the ingredients can be found pretty much everywhere in the world, I would suggest it to my readers abroad as well as in the US.  The only tricky part for you under-agers is getting the beer, but hopefully an 21+-year-old will be willing to help you acquire one 12-oz can for the loaf of bread.

I tried it again on a cookie sheet and it still took 15 minutes more. Must have something to do with my oven, or perhaps my location. I dunno. It was still good!

You should see his shop! He sells lovely things on etsy. Mostly hand-carved and hand-painted eggs, like Emu eggs.

Look at this pretty!

Here is one titled "Rose New Technique" in/on an Emu egg and I think it is so pretty! Click to see the listing (so long as it hasn't already sold)

Here is another one I like. I am tempted to see if I can get one for my mommy..

This one is called "A Mothers First Love Hand Carved Goose Egg" and I love the beautiful simplicity of it. Again, you can click the image for a link to the listing as long as it hasn't sold.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Friends, Native American, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick, Easy Beer-Bread

  1. Those are lovely. Also, I miss you and cooking with you and other such delightful things. But I’m back in the States in less than 3 months now!

    • N B says:

      Yay!
      I am so glad to hear from you, my dear. It has been a bit due to new scheduling since we been able to chat. I can see you are very excited to be back in the states soon. I am excited for your return, too! When you are back, we should cook and do other fun things. 😀 Yis.

Leave a Reply

