A weekend in Newport, OR

Hello, dear reader.

Last week I didn’t post as much because I was prepping for my trip this past weekend. You see, as of this weekend I am another year older. Hubby and I spent a weekend in Newport, Oregon as a little vacation for my birthday weekend. We disconnected ourselves from all but the “here and now” of the trip. This meant no answering our phones, no emailing, no social media, no video games. It was amazing.

We managed to see 5 attractions, and eat at a few nice places. I would recommend all the attractions, but not all the places we ate (and we didn’t eat out much, so when it wasn’t all that great, it was more disappointing).

Where did we go? In order of less to more entertaining: The Waxworks, Undersea Gardens, Aquarium Village, The Oregon Coast Aquarium, and Ripley’s Believe It Or Not.

The first two and last were part of a three-pack. You can see all three (with no expiration date so far as I know) for $25 per person. The last was the only one really worth the approximate price, in my opinion. I would go again. I, however, geek out about such things. Especially the scientific elements. (I wish there were more museums.)

Little known fact: if you can prove it really is, you can get into the Oregon Coast Aquarium for free on your birthday. True. It is smaller than I thought it would be, but it had neat exhibits. The sea otter was funny, trying to break a shell open on the glass between the otter’s area and the guests. It spun while doing it. I hope to post a video soon.

The Aquarium Village was full of kitchy, cute shops. There were a number of things I wanted to bring back for people. I kept saying “so and so would love this,” and “this reminds me of (insert name)!”

As I said, we didn’t eat out much. We had a late snack and dessert at a Cafe on the Historic Bayfront (don’t remember which, but there were three numbers at the end). The pizza was burnt on one side and had a waaay chewy crust. Desserts were okay, mine much better than my husband’s (neither of us liked his). Afterward, we went dancing at the only place to dance in Newport. And everyone thought we were crazy to dance… Weirdos.

The other place we ate out was Szabo’s. It was a bar/grill type atmosphere and menu. Their prices were kinda high, but you get all you pay for. The seafood in my Alfredo was all huge chunks. The fish chunks were half the size of a dollar bill! The prawns were about the size of a 50-cent piece. (I mean the currency, not the popular recording artist.). The dessert was large too. When they said “large brownie with ice cream” I figured a palm-sized brownie and a scoop of ice cream. No. No, no, no. It was almost the size of my face, 1.5″ or so thick, with two and a half large scoops if ice cream. I brought most of it home. About 1/2 my pasta did, too.

All in all, not too bad a trip. Shoulda gone with my impulses for some of it, but we had a budget. Had to make some choices. Still was great, though. I got to spend a fun, quiet weekend with my husband on the coast. πŸ™‚

Maybe you should go, too.
~N

20120406-074858.jpg

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Family, Life in General, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

