Eat Here! Namaste Indian Cuisine

Sometimes you have those impulses. You know, the ones that are so strong you fight them for a few seconds before giving in with passion and enthusiasm. Driving back towards my house on Friday from downtown Portland, I had one of those.

We were approaching an off-ramp from the freeway and I suddenly had the feeling we should get off at this exit. Don’t ask me why, I don’t really know. I fought with myself for a bit, and suddenly told my husband, “Get off here.”

So we did. Then he says, “Now what?”
Me: “I don’t know.”
Hubby: “Which way?”
Me: “Uhmm…”

So we took whatever direction his impulses said to go until I had another strong impulse. “Turn here.”

We did and went a while along that road until I looked to the right and saw an Indian restaurant called Namaste. Again, that impulse. “Let’s go there.”

Now, if you know me very well, you will instantly be thinking “Why?”  THis is because I have what is called a “Cat’s tongue.”  Cat’s tongues are very sensitive to temperature, particularly hot. People apply this term to people who cannot handle any moderate to high level of “hot” spices. I am one of those people… I think that mild chili sauce can be too hot. Not kidding.

So we walk in and decide to go to the buffet. After having a simple salad course, I went back for a main course. Got myself a heaping pile of saffron basmati rice and walked to the the entrees. I settled on taking small portions of a few entrees that looked the least spicy: spinach and cheese, lamb tikka masala, paneer something-or-other (which is a cheese), vegetables in buttery cream sauce, and chicken in a cream sauce. The surprising bit was that the spinach and cheese dish was the most spicy of all the options!

After having too much spice in my system, I went back for more rice to cut the heat. With that option not working all that well, I ordered a mango lassi. For those who don’t know what it is, Lassi is a yogurt-based drink often available at Indian restaurants. I am usually not fond of the drink, but enjoyed this one very muchly. I had their sweet rice pudding for dessert. It was delicious and very satisfying.

You should visit their website. Here it is: http://www.namasteindiancuisineor.com/

Enjoy!
~N

P.S. I am still not sure whether or not it was a call from the higher powers to avoid an accident or something, but it all worked out really well.

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Eat Here!, Family, Friends, Restaurants, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eat Here! Namaste Indian Cuisine

  1. ZOMG I’m commenting on blogs again. Crazy, right?

    I have nothing witty or insightful to say, just that Indian food is delicious. And hi? Yeah, hi is good. 😀

Leave a Reply

