Pie season

As my husband has aptly pointed out, we are entering pie season. The photograph my mamma flaunted on a certain social network made me think of it, too… and made me wish I had dropped in on my family yesterday evening. They looked sooooo good.

Two apple pies my Mamma teased me with yesterday. Okay, she just teased me with the photo of pre-baked pies.

Pie season is approximately 3.5 months long, from mid September to early January. It all starts with when most apples and pears are ripe, locally speaking, and ends at the last New Year’s party.

My family usually enjoys apple, chocolate, and lemon meringue pies. My husband’s family is really big on pumpkin and chocolate. I have become fairly well versed in apple and instant chocolate pudding pies.

Thinking of apple pies takes me on a trip over the years. I loved making it with Mamma when I was a child. My favorite part was using mamma’s apple corer/slicer/peeler.

Like this! Only this one is from google images, not my Mamma’s house.

Whirrrr and they were cored, peeled, and sliced. All we had to do was cut the slices apart and throw it in the bowl. Add cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, lemon juice, and a bit of flour and stir.

We made pie crust out of flour, oil, and water, rolled it out, and put it in the tin. Add the apples, lick the spoon, add the top crust, and put it in the oven. Extra dough? Roll it out, put it in a tin, sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, and bake till golden. Munch while waiting for apple pie.

When the apple pie is done, slice and put in bowls or on plates. Add vanilla iced cream and enjoy hot. Or, let cool. After it cools, microwave your slice, then add vanilla iced cream and enjoy.

Thanksgiving, and more pies. This is where the pumpkin usually makes it’s biggest appearance. I am personally not a fan, so hubby usually eats “my” slice for me. With lots of cool whip or whipped cream. Christmas? More pies. And eggnog. And on into New Year’s.

Yep, pie season. Oh, how my pie-addicted husband loves thee!

Mamma’s apple pie recipe: coming soon.

~N

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Family, food, Foods From Childhood, Friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pie season

  1. Pingback: Grandma Bennett’s Simple Pie Crust | Forward! Life Awaits.

Leave a Reply

