Foods from Childhood: Mamma’s Apple Pie Filling

Okay, here you go! Here is the pie recipe I have been promising you. Smelling or baking it takes me back to my childhood, stirring crust, rolling out the crust, and using the apple-corer-peeler to bake pie with my Mamma. I must admit, I would sneak bits of spice-and-sugar coated apple.

My dad sometimes buys apples and specifically tells me he did. He really like this apple pie! I guess it brings the family together. It I’d also a great comfort food.

This pie, by the way, is one of those that is great all year round! We enjoy this pie during pie season and beyond.

Mamma’s Apple Pie Filling
Makes 1 regular pie

Ingredients

  • 6 medium apples
  • 3/4c sugar
  • 1/4t cinnamon
  • 1/8t nutmeg
  • 1T flour
  • 2T butter
  • Pie Crust, (I suggest this one.)
  • Ice Cream (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425F
  2. Make pie crust (I suggest the recipe from my recent post)
  3. Cut and core apples
  4. Mix all but butter in a large bowl
  5. Put in the bottom crust
  6. Put butter on top in dots
  7. Put on the top crust
  8. Bake 50 minutes
  9. Remove from oven.
  10. Cut, top with ice cream (optional), eat and enjoy.

There you have it! I hope you enjoy this bit of my childhood. Double the ingredients and up the cook time for a deep-dish pie.
Happy Pie Season!
~N

About N B

Artist, critic, friend, and rambly-ponderer.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Family, food, Foods From Childhood, Friends, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

